Whether you can view and retrieve messages after you delete them depends on how you set options in Mail preferences. Select an account, click Mailbox Behaviours, then check the setting for the Trash Mailbox option. To retrieve a deleted message, drag it from the Trash mailbox to another mailbox. In the Mail app on your Mac, do one of the following:.
Delete a folder in Mac Mail | Information Services Division - UCL - London's Global University
See Change Mailbox Behaviours preferences. If you mistakenly delete messages, just drag them out of the Trash mailbox to another mailbox. Delete an email In the Mail app on your Mac, select a message.
- mac font book to word!
- martin mac 3 user manual.
- How to Recover Deleted Emails on Mac from Apple Mail - EaseUS?
- How to remove the Mail app | Delete the Mail app from a Mac.
- Backup and delete messages in Apple's Mail App.
Delete multiple emails In the Mail app on your Mac, select messages or conversations in the list. All of the messages in a conversation will be deleted. Google Help. Help Centre Community. I use Mac Mail. In Mail. Whenever I move an email out of "Inbox" or "Sent" to a particular folder eg "Fun Stuff" it automatically places that email into to "Trash" folder and correspondingly into the "Bin" in Google Mail. In other words, on Google Mail it comes out of inbox, goes into the bin as opposed to remaining in "All Mail".
I have thousands of client related emails stored in folders "On My Mac" and need to continue doing so. However, I don't want these emails ending up in Google Mails "Bin" rather than "All Mail", unless ofcourse I am genuinely deleting them. Community content may not be verified or up to date.
Learn more. There are two possiblities. I understand that this is one of the benefits of IMAP.
However, as I mentioned in my question I am not actually deleting the emails. I am moving them to a folder in Apple Mail. In so doing, for some reason the email ends up in Trash automatically and consequently in the Gmail Bin.
Moving emails from Inbox to Folder 'On My Mac' has effect of putting that email in the Gmail Bin
I have unhidden "All mail" from Imap and that seems to have fixed the problem. Thanks a gazillion. Not sure about the whole expunging thing. My settings are "Auto Expunge: off - wait for the client to update the server" and " When a message is marked as deleted and expunged from the last visible IMAP folder: Move the message to Bin".
These settings seem to work for me, in that when I genuinely delete something in Apple Mail it is automatically sent to the Gmail Bin.
- outlook for mac and ical not syncing.
- Apple Mail - Removing Messages from the Server - Knowledgebase - ConnectNC, Inc..
- cubase 5 mac download free.
- Was this information helpful?.
This is okay as I can always empty my Gmail bin manually every couple of days I guess. With All Mail showing, the messages will not be moved to the Bin until they are deleted from All Mail, too. With All Mail hidden, they will be moved to the Bin when they are deleted from the other folders. Yes No.
Related delete mail from mac mail
Copyright 2019 - All Right Reserved